All the youngsters out there surely know something called Snapchat. It is a great app that allows you to send self-destructing messages to your friends and other contacts using the same app. This app is very widely used even today but has its own share of hassles. For example, you can only send images on it. The images can only be clicked on the spot and previous messages in the phone storage cannot be sent. And add to that, the accessibility issue was always there as the people whom you wish to Snapchat with are also needed to use the very same or similar supporting app. But now, as usual which is the case most times, our very own Facebook has come up with a new concept of self-destructing posts.
“We’re running a small pilot of a feature on Facebook for iOS that lets people schedule deletion of their posts in advance,” said a company representative in an email to PCMag.com.
What can it do?
Now what we usually do is that we can make some posts and that is available for everyone who is our friend to see. But sometimes there are some sensitive posts which you make which can bring you quite some amount of heat from various ends and so the solution for this was to actually go and delete the post manually. But then sometimes it so happens that you unable to reach in time to delete the post and so you end up in trouble after all. But with this feature, Facebook is bringing a solution to it where you can actually post something and give it a timer for expiration ranging from an hour to upto 7 days. After that the post ceases to exist without any trace, though we do thing the posts might still remain on Facebook’s servers, typical of them.
How is it better?
For starters, even if you have to use it on your phone, the receiver will be able to access the content on their desktop as well, so the device is not an issue. Secondly, you do not have to compel the other person to get the same app (as in the case with Snapchat) as everyone today is on Facebook; it is kind of a norm these days. So you can connect to your family or friends by sending such self-destructing posts. And if you are worried about it being public, do not break a sweat, posts can be sent with changed privacy settings as well.
Now you can absolutely go ahead and share all your personal stuff with your friends and have a blast. We have no comments on what or how.